## Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board State of Louisiana

Office of the Governor

JEFF LANDRY Governor



TAYLOR F. BARRAS COMMISSIONER OF ADMINISTRATION

## APPRAISER TRAINEE REGISTRATIO0N

## <u>Checklist</u>

This checklist will assist you in the process of obtaining an appraiser trainee registration. This checklist is for your use and does not need to be submitted to the Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board ("Board"). Additional information can be found at: <u>Appraiser Licensing Frequently Asked Questions</u>.

**<u>Step 1</u>**: The registration applicant shall complete all qualifying education as listed below:

- Seventy-five (75) hours of qualifying education as specified in the *Required Core Curriculum*. The applicant shall pass the 15-Hour National USPAP Course (or its AQB-approved equivalent) and exam as part of the 75-hour curriculum.
- All qualifying education must be completed within the five (5) year period immediately preceding the date of Appraiser Trainee registration.
- A 4-hour supervisor/trainee class required by the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC). This course must be completed by both the trainee and supervisor.
- Please note that trainees are permitted to have more than one supervisor but are responsible for finding their own supervisor.

<u>Step 2</u>: The registration applicant shall complete and submit the <u>Appraiser Trainee</u> <u>Registration Application</u> to the Board including the required fee of \$245.00. The form shall be signed by the proposed supervisory appraiser. You may search the LREAB database for appraisers licensed in Louisiana at: <u>Appraiser License Search</u>.

<u>Step 3</u>: The registration applicant shall complete training with an approved supervisory appraiser. The trainee shall maintain a separate appraisal log for each supervisory appraiser. The experience log and its requirements can be found at: <u>Appraiser Trainee Experience Log.</u> The applicant shall complete either:

- a) One thousand (1,000) hours of qualifying experience in no fewer than six (6) months to be eligible to apply for a Licensed Real Property Appraiser.
- b) One thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of qualifying experience obtained in no fewer than twelve (12) months to be eligible to apply for a Certified Residential License.

9071 INTERLINE AVE BATON ROUGE, LA 70809 (225) 925-1923 1-800-821-4529 FAX (225) 925-4501 www.lreab.gov email: appraisal@lreab.gov

## LA REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS BOARD

*Trainee Checklist* (Rev. 02/24)

Page 2 of 2

c) Three thousand (3,000) hours of qualifying experience obtained in no fewer than eighteen (18) months, where a minimum of one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours must be obtained in non-residential appraisal work to be eligible to apply for a Certified General Real property Appraiser.

Additional qualifying education for each license is required and can be found here: <u>Appraiser</u> <u>Qualifying Education</u>. Specific examinations are required for each license type.

<u>Step 4</u>: Trainee registrations shall be renewed every two years. Please refer to your registration expiration date to determine renewal date.

\*<u>Important Note</u>: An applicant previously convicted of a felony shall contact the Board's Regulatory Compliance staff for additional details (<u>info@lreab.gov</u>).